Executive Committee

Dr. Manish Sadarangani, MRCPCH, DPHIL, BM.BCh, MA

Dr Manish Sadarangani is Director of the Vaccine Evaluation Center at the BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute and an Assistant Professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases, UBC Department of Pediatrics. He completed his undergraduate medical training and pediatric residency in Cambridge, Oxford and London in the UK. He then completed his DPhil with the Oxford Vaccine Group in the UK, developing novel vaccine candidates for protection against capsular group B meningococcal disease, and completed a Fellowship in Pediatric Infectious Diseases in Vancouver in 2013 before returning to Oxford to work as a Pediatric Infectious Diseases physician. He has worked in pediatrics throughout the world, including in sub-Saharan Africa, Asia, Australia, North America and Europe. His research links clinical trials with basic microbiology, immunology and epidemiology to address clinically relevant problems related to 

immunization and vaccine-preventable diseases. Specific research interests include meningococcal disease and meningococcal vaccines, bacterial conjugate vaccines, understanding vaccine-induced immunity using systems biology approaches, meningitis and encephalitis, maternal immunization, the microbiota and antibiotic resistance.

Dr. Brian Ward, MD
Previous Chair

Dr Ward received medical training at McGill, University of London and Johns Hopkins (Tropical Medicine, Infectious Diseases, Microbiology). His research training began as a Rhodes scholar at Oxford (Quebec: Corpus Christie 1977) and continued at Johns Hopkins. He joined the Faculty of Medicine at McGill in 1991 where he is currently full professor of Medicine and Microbiology and director of the McGill Vaccine Study Centre. Since 2009, he has served as the Medical Officer for Medicago Inc, a company in Quebec City using plants to make vaccines. Among other current activities, he serves as chair for the CIHR Institutional Advisory Board for Infection and Immunity, interim chair of CAIRE and co-chair of the scientific advisory board of GLOPID-R. His research interests include emerging pathogens, immunotherapeutics, novel vaccines and parasite diagnostics.

Dr. Scott Halperin, MD

Dr. Scott Halperin is a Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology and Immunology at Dalhousie University in Halifax. As Director of the Canadian Center for Vaccinology, Co-Principal Investigator of the Canadian Immunization Monitoring Program–Active (IMPACT), and Nominated Principal Investigator of the Canadian Immunization Research Network (CIRN), Dr. Halperin is at the forefront of efforts to provide Canada with a national capacity to undertake coordinated, integrated, evaluative vaccine research to inform public health policy and practice. He leads an interdisciplinary team of more than 130 investigators in more than 56 institutions involved in collaborative research projects of priority to Canadian health. Dr. Halperin’s key area of expertise is pertussis (whooping cough). His research focuses on the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of pertussis and other vaccine-preventable diseases.

Dr. Shannon MacDonald, PhD, RN

Shannon MacDonald is an Assistant Professor of Nursing and an adjunct in the School of Public Health at the University of Alberta, and an adjunct in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Calgary. Her program of research focuses on vaccine uptake and safety, with an emphasis on supporting immunization best practice and policies. She has a particular interest in addressing system-level barriers and supports to achieving high immunization coverage, especially in vulnerable populations. Dr. MacDonald’s clinical background is in pediatric nursing with research training in epidemiology, public health, and nursing, including a fellowship in the Alberta Ministry of Health. Her ongoing research collaborations with policy-advisors and clinicians feed her passion for answering real world policy and practice questions that impact child health.

Dr. Karina Top, MD, MS, FRCPC

Dr. Karina Top is a pediatric infectious disease specialist and clinician-scientist in vaccinology. She is an Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Community Health & Epidemiology at Dalhousie University in Halifax, NS and is an Investigator at the Canadian Center for Vaccinology. She completed medical school and pediatric residency at Dalhousie University followed by fellowship training in pediatric infectious diseases and a Master of Science in Epidemiology at Columbia University. Dr. Top is the Principal Investigator of the Canadian Immunization Research Network’s Special Immunization Clinic Network which aims to standardize and improve the management of patients with adverse events following immunization. She is also an Investigator in the Canadian Immunization Monitoring Program, Active (IMPACT). Her research focuses on vaccine safety surveillance, management of patients with previous adverse events following immunization,

vaccine safety in pregnancy, and the evaluation of vaccine safety and effectiveness in immunocompromised patients.

Karen Simmons, MSc

Administrative director


Elisabeth McClymont, BA

Elisabeth McClymont is a PhD Candidate in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology at the University of British Columbia. She was the recipient of the 2016 Dr. Bernard Duval Award for Vaccination for work relating to her thesis, which explores HPV vaccine efficacy, immunogenicity, and dose spacing in women living with HIV. Additional research interests include STI and vaginal microbiome interactions and the role of vaccination in preterm birth prevention.

Previous members

Dr. Natasha Crowcroft - Executive member and co-chair of CAIRE from 2016 - 2020
Dr. Caroline Quach - Executive member and co-chair of CAIRE from 2016 - 2019
Gordean Bjornson, MBA - Administrator of CAIRE from 2000 - 2018
Dr. David Scheifele - The first Chair of CAIRE from 2000 - 2016
Dr. Bernard Duval - Executive committee member of CAIRE from 2000 - 2008

CAIRE Coordinating Centre

950 West 28th Avenue

Vancouver, BC  V5Z 4H4

Email: caire@bcchr.ca

Phone: 604-875-2422

Fax: 604-875-2635